NYCHFF To Honor Michael Berryman For His Contributions To The Genre

After a two-year break, the New York City Horror Film Festival will once again present a Lifetime Achievement Award at its annual gathering. This year, they have chosen not only an icon but one of the nicest damn people you could ever hope to meet.

Micheal Berryman has been amazing and terrifying audiences for decades – this horror fan included. Like many, I was first exposed to Berryman in Wes Craven’s THE HILL HAVE EYES and his character of PLUTO is as memorable now as it was then. Although iconic in that performance, Berryman has enjoyed an amazing career and is also known for appearing in WEIRD SCIENCE, the TV series TALES FROM THE CRYPT, and X FILES. His other film credits include STAR TREK IV, ARMED RESPONSE, DEADLY BLESSINGS, CUT AND RUN, SOLAR CRISIS, THE DEVIL’S REJECTS, and LORDS OF SALEM.

Who remembers him from Motley Crue’s video for SMOKIN’ IN THE BOY’s ROOM? I sure the hell do!

Micheal is a fan favorite at horror conventions and sports a legion of fans who not only appreciate his work but also his warm, caring, and open demeanor. A great guy in every meaning of the word.

So – it only seems fitting that the NEW YORK CITY HORROR FILM FESTIVAL will honor Michael Berryman this year with their LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – where he will join George Romero, Tom Savini, Tobe Hooper, Roger Corman, Mick Garris, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Frank Henenlotter, Bill Lustig, Robert Englund, Late Wes Craven, Lloyd Kaufman, Angus Scrimm, Sean Cunningham, Adrienne Barbeau, Brad Dourif, Tony Todd, and Greg Nicotero. A list that he certainly deserves to be a part of.

This year’s festival will take place December 1st – 4th and you can click here to purchase tickets for the live event – or the virtual event if you can’t make the drive to NYC.

Gruesome Magazine wants to issue a hearty Congratulations to Michael Berryman for achieving this amazing honor!

The NYC Horror Film Festival is the brainchild of Michael J. Hein. He created the festival in 2001 as a venue for newer independent horror filmmaking. After Michael’s passing in 2011, the festival created the Michael J. Hein Achievement Award to celebrate the hard work and perseverance of creators in the field. Rob Zombie, Stuart Gordon, and Tom Atkins were the first recipients of this award. The very first Festival took place at Tribeca Cinemas in 2001.

Dave Dreher
Co-Founder / Lead News Reporter at Gruesome Magazine
Dave is co-founder and lead news reporter for Gruesome. Dave has built his resume working for Diabolique Magazine, The Horror Channel,, House of Horrors and Creature Corner. He has worked with Tom Savini on his official site since 1997 and is also co-host of the popular podcast Horror News Radio.