(Album Review) Mammoth WVH – (2021)

We first caught wind of Mammoth WVH when Wolfgang released the song Distance after the passing of his father – a heart-wrenching tribute to the guitar legend that he knew simply as Dad. It was obvious with that song that as the saying goes – “the apple didn’t fall far from the tree” because the musical talent that Wolfgang brings to this debut album is frankly – legendary.

The first question I had was – why the name Mammoth, obviously the WVH were his initials but – what the name Mammoth all about? – Turns out – that was the name of Van Halen– before they were Van Halen – Wolfgang recounts that as a child, when his father told him that, he knew it would someday be the name of his band – I kind of love that.

That takes us to this self-titled debut album – 14 tracks, each and every note of every instrument played by Wolfgang Van Halen – same with the vocals. I am seriously hard-pressed to find a single criticism with this collection. Wolfgang comes across as a prodigy and that’s easy to understand because – he is one. He grew up at the heels of arguably, the greatest guitarist of the modern era – and he paid attention, gleaming what he could off his father but at the same time developing a style all his own. It would be easy to get lost in the legacy of his father but it is obvious Wolfgang will be nurturing a legacy of his own.

This album is lyrically and structurally, one of the most impressive outings in recent memory. Wolfgang seems to like to experiment with blending layered vocals over catchy guitar riffs – but when he needs to throw a blistering solo in there – he has the chops to pull it off. This makes for an exciting listening experience with not one single song feeling repetitive or bland.

Mammoth WVH stakes their claim as a major up and comer with this release – and I can’t wait to see and hear more of what this major talent has to throw our way.

Track Listing

1. “Mr. Ed”
2. “Horribly Right”
3. “Epiphany”
4. “Don’t Back Down”
5. “Resolve”
6. “You’ll Be the One”
7. “Mammoth”
8. “Circles”
9. “The Big Picture”
10. “Think It Over”
11. “You’re to Blame”
12. “Feel”
13. “Stone”
14. “Distance”

Mammoth WVH is out now via all the major streaming services – and I can not stress strongly enough that it needs to be added to your playlist as quickly as possible.

Dave Dreher
Co-Founder / Lead News Reporter at Gruesome Magazine
Dave is co-founder and lead news reporter for Gruesome. Dave has built his resume working for Diabolique Magazine, The Horror Channel, Horrornews.net, House of Horrors and Creature Corner. He has worked with Tom Savini on his official site since 1997 and is also co-host of the popular podcast Horror News Radio.